We can take the long way home…

I’ve been using the internet more or less constantly since 1997 (the good old AOL days). Since that time I’ve never been without the internet (in some form or another) for more than a month. It’s been nearly 5 months since I’ve had internet at home. During the black internet-less days, I had to adapt.
* I had to learn how to look up telephone numbers in the phone book
* I’ve had to ask my tom tom where the nearest grocery store is
* I’ve had to physically call my friends on the telephone instead of facebooking them
* I’ve had to rely on the 3 cookbooks we own and misc handwritten recipes
* I’ve had to listen to the same 25 CD’s that were on my Ipod before my hard drive took a nose dive
* I’ve had to knit only patterns that were printed out and stored in my 3 ring knitting binder

It was hard, and just when I got my bearings, and knew which way my north was; when I’d finally learned how to live without it. I got it all back. The only thing I’m missing is a working digital camera. (mine appears to be very very broken)

I have a working laptop
I have high speed internet (that isn’t “borrowed” from the neighbors)
I feel so connected.

I’ll admit that I’ve missed some of you more than others, I have been reading back over the things I missed out on. And to one friend in particular, I am sorry I wasn’t there to help you lick your wounds.

2 Responses to “We can take the long way home…”

  1. Christy Says:

    I’m so glad you’re back online! 🙂

  2. loachlover Says:

    I’m glad you’re back too. This is where I met you and this is where it feels natural to find you. You’re the missing link in my life that fills that area that none of my other friends could ever even comprehend filling. When you’re not online, I feel like the puzzle that’s missing that one piece that keeps the picture from being perfect. I adore you.

Leave a Reply

