“I wanna shoot the whole day down.”

STILL ON MY FIRST SOCK OF THE PAIR.
I hate frogging. x1000000000
I had to frog like… 25% of my damn sock.
I’m the queen of “good enough” but when a. the yo’s don’t line up and b. you can actually tell
there is no choice other than to frog the shit out of it.
I’ve got to look up that lifeline thing.

so I am back to where I started from. these socks just don’t want to be knit. One more frog and they are getting thrown somewhere and left to die. bastards.

i’m ok i really am..

How about we finish things off with a little questionnaire?

The Knit-Geek Questionnaire (unrelated to any swaps or secret pal exchanges)

1.What’s your worst habit relating to your knitting? starting new projects when i don’t have the time/energy for them.

2.In what specific ways does your knitting make you a better person? I think it calms me down. I tend to be a bit high strung sometimes.

3. How might you or your life be different if you were suddenly unable to knit? I have a few other hobbies I guess I could fall back on like embroidery. But it would i think make me a very bitter person.

4. If money were no object, what one yarn, and what one tool or gadget would you run out and buy first? I would buy some lornas laces, and some addi turbos and knit me up a clapotis 🙂

5. What knitting technique or project type are you most afraid of (if any)? What, specifically, do you fear will happen when you try it? I’m afraid of lace knitting. I don’t think i have the attention span to follow charts right now.

6. Who is/are your knitting hero(es), and why? I idolize Stephanie Pearl-McPhee I would love to travel and knit and have wonderful knitting friends.

7. Do you consider knitting, for you personally, a mostly social activity, or a mostly solitary activity? It’s mostly been solitary. I am a self taught knitter. But i’v recently found a knitting group that makes it a bit more social for me.

8. Is there a particular regional tradition in knitting that you feel strongly drawn toward (e.g., Fair Isle, Scandinavian, Celtic, Orenburg lace)? Any theories as to why it calls to you? No there isn’t. I guess i’d have to pick fair isle. i love the intense color work.

9. If you were a yarn, which yarn would you be? I’d probably be Sugar n Cream 🙂

10. Some statistics: (a) How many years have passed since you FIRST learned to knit? about 5 or 6 years now

(b) How many total years have you been actively, regularly knitting (i.e., they don’t have to have been in a row)?
2 years this time

(c) how many people have you taught to knit?
three, none of them do it now

(d) Roughly what percentage of your FOs do you give away (to anyone besides yourself, i.e., including your immediate family)
i mostly seem to knit hats no one wears or cute things for my daughter.

11. How often do you KIP (knit in public)? i.e., once a week, once a month, etc. Where do you do it? about 4 times a month at the meeting.

12. If a genie granted you one hour to stitch-n-bitch with any one knitter, living or dead, who would you choose and why? EZ… duh.

13. What aspect or task in knitting makes you most impatient? when you get stuck on 1×1 ribbing that seems to take 100 years and never make any progress.

14. What is it about knitting that never lets you get bored with it? seeing all of the wonderful things that can be made with two sticks and a peice of string.

15. Describe how and where you most often do your knitting – where do you sit, what is going on around you, what tools do you use and how are they (dis)organized? I try to keep little portable projects. I’m the mother of a toddler so i can’t keep anything within her reach. most of my knitting is done here on the couch and then stored away in ziplock bags on a book shelf.

16. Which one person is the recipient of more of your knitting than any other? My daughter, she’s almost 2 so knitting for her is a breeze

17. What’s the oddest thing about your knitting, or yourself as a knitter? I used to throw with my middle finger on my right hand. i got teased, now i use my index finger.

18. What do you see yourself knitting – if anything – twenty years from now? I hope to be able to knit my grand child tiny sweaters and maybe a full size lace shawl for myself.

19. If you were stranded on a deserted island and could have only ONE SKEIN of yarn, which yarn would it be and what would you do with it? I’d probably pick a giant skein of Red Heart. that stuff is indestructable!! i’d knit me up a little hammock and i’d figure out a way to make yarn with the bark of trees. haha

20. If you were allowed to own only one knitting-related book, which would it be? (you’d be free to browse others, but you couldn’t keep them) I don’t really have a favorite book. i guess knit lit?

21. Is knitting the new yoga? Why or why not? Yoga is yoga. with knitting you don’t have to feel bad that you can’t put your legs behind your ears?

EDIT: This last question added by Caroline:
22. What important thing are you trying to put off doing whenever you knit?”
the dishes.
every time.

Leave a Reply

